3 2 1

Whisky Regions
of Scotland

Hover over the buttons to highlight the region on the map.
Click for further details. 


Regional distinctions have been reduced in recent years, as increasing technological advances in the production process have allowed distillers far greater control over the final flavour of their whiskies. Also, such considerations as the origins of the cask, where the whisky was matured, and for how long, will all influence the flavour and make regional judgements difficult. Here we use the division of Highland, Island and Lowland.


The Highlands1

The Highlands stretch from Fort William in the west, right up the coast by Skye, around the North Coast 500 to Durness and John O' Groats in the far north. It also runs up to Inverness and east out to Elgin, taking in Aviemore and some of the Cairngorms National Park. Here you will find majestic mountains, mysterious lochs and sensational seascapes of the stunning stretches of coastline.The highlands contain the greatest concentration of Scotch whisky distilleries.

Find out more

The Lowlands2

Historically speaking, the Lowlands are defined as the region south of the Highland Boundary Fault line which stretches north to east. The region exemplifies Scotland’s dramatic scenery with wooded valleys and winding rivers. Known as the home of the blend, malt whiskies from this area are known for their light and grassy style.

Find out more

The Isles3

The Isles is an area located on the west coast of Scotland, covering an area of 2667 square miles over 23 inhabited islands and a part of the West Coast Scottish mainland. Of these rugged islands, known as the Hebrides, Islay has earned the most renown for its peated whiskies and abundance of distilleries (now home to seven whisky distilleries – and at one point, there were 21). The islands of Jura, Arran, Mull, Skye and Orkney’s archipelago are also noted for their whiskies and dramatic scenery. 

Find out more